Often while debugging an app it’s handy to delete its preferences so it will “start over” like a fresh install. You used to be able to find the .plist file in the Preferences folder and delete it. Simple.
Starting with OS X 10.9, preferences are cached. So even after deleting them, they’re still around. Here’s the magic shell command that deletes them:
defaults delete com.company.programName